Faith is the third book in the Quaker Brides series written by Lyn Cote. Faith and her friend Honoree are trained nurses caring for wounded soldiers for the Union Army. They have joined the group to have a chance to move south looking for Honoree’s sister who was kidnapped years earlier. Faith, a Quaker, is known for her skills in treating the injured. Honoree is often mistaken for being maid, she was born free, not a slave. Faith often turns to Bible verses when talking with others and she prays with the soldiers.

Colonel Devlin Knight, Dev, is a career soldier. He promised to write manumission papers for his manservant on his next birthday, but goes back on his word. He knows his manservant, Armstrong, wants to enlist in the army. He does not want Armstrong to enlist as he cares about him and does not want anything to happen to him.

I like this book. It is a Christian historical fiction. The characters are well introduced. Even though it is the third book in the series, it was a very good stand alone story. The author has done a lot of research to write the story true to the time. We get to see the strength both Faith and Honoree have living in dangerous situations. And the determination they have in finding Honoree’s sister.

I received a copy of this book from Book Club Network for an honest review.

Series: Quaker Brides (Book 3)

584 pages

ISBN-10: 1414375638

ISBN-13: 978-1414375632

Publisher: Tyndale House Publishers, Inc.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s