I’m Not Afraid

unnamed

I’m Not Afraid , written by Lee Ann Mancini, is part of the Adventures of the Sea Kids. In this book we meet Susie, a whale, and Rachel, an octopus. They are at the Undersea Amusement Park and Rachel wants to ride the Whale-Back Roller Coaster but Susie keeps finding other things to do instead. Susie says she is not afraid but she is. She calls her mother and her mother tells her to go on the ride and to pray. So Susie prays “Please, Jesus, Help me not to be afraid and keep me safe. Amen.” Susie has so much fun on the ride that she wants to go back.

When Rachel wants to go on higher rides, Susie tells her “ I’m not afraid of anything. And I mean anything! Jesus gives me courage.” Rachael agrees, “Jesus is the best friend anyone could have and he’s always with us.”

This is such a cute book. It is a great book to help teach children about being afraid and how Jesus can help them through things. I like how the story not only talks about asking for things in prayer but also thanking Jesus for helping with fears. The pictures are very colorful and pretty. Each picture has a bible symbol on it that will help engage young children by having them look for it.

I received a copy of the book from Book Club Network in exchange for an honest review.I give this book a 5.

Age Range: 4 – 8 years

Grade Level: Preschool – 3

ISBN-10: 0986360430

ISBN-13: 978-0986360435

Publisher: GLM Publishing LLC

Leave a Reply

